Long Island Volunteer Hall of Fame Announces 2011 Inductees

The Long Island Volunteer Hall of Fame will hold its 10th annual induction ceremony and reception on February 5, 2012 at the Carlyle on the Green, Bethpage State Park to honor volunteer founders of nonprofit organizations whose vision, dedication and drive addressed a community need and began a legacy of service to improve the quality of life for Long Islanders. Special awards for Inspiration Service and Lifetime Achievement in Volunteerism plus Next Generation Youth Awards will also be conveyed to recognize exemplary individual volunteer efforts in active citizenship, community service, and philanthropy. Selected by an independent blue ribbon panel of judges, the inductees are:

2012 LIVHOF Inductees

Children and Youth Services—Patricia D’Accolti, Children’s Sport Connection
Education—Nancy and Rod Zuch, The Morgan Center
Environment/Animals—Nancy Lynch, Pet Safe Coalition
Family Support—Glenda White-Hills, Millenium Sistahs
Health—Nancy Leupold, Support for People with Oral and Head and Neck Cancer
Homelessness—Larry Hohler, Hope Children’s Fund
Philanthropy—Dan Connor, The Gladiator Fund
Seniors—Sister Jeanne Andre Brendel, O.P., Harvest Houses (run by The Emmaus House Foundation)
Special Needs—Dr. Deborah Benson, Common Ground Alliance

Inspirational Service Award—Victoria Ruvolo, nominated by The Sunshine Center
Lifetime Achievement Award in Volunteerism—Jay Steingold, nominated by EAC Long Island Dispute Resolution Centers
Next Generation Award for Emergency Services—Simeon Melman, nominated by Good Samaritan Hospital
Next Generation Award for Leadership—Benjamin Jake Kornick, nominated by Nassau County Youth Board
Next Generation Award for Visionary Philanthropy—Christopher Yao, nominated by Daos Children’s Centre

The 2011 judges who selected the founder categories and youth awards were: Suzie Alvey of Garden City Patch.com, Katie Banaszak, Americorps, Gurwin Jewish Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, Colette Coyne of Colette Coyne Melanoma Awareness Campaign (2010 Inductee), Lana Gluck of Long Island Volunteer Center, Brittney Hellinger of NYIT Carleton Group, Miss Long Island 2012 Jessica Pinckney, Dianne Robinson of New York Blood Center, and Angela Zimmerman of Nassau County Department of Human Services Office of Youth Services. Judges from the Association of Professional Volunteer Administrators selected the candidates for Lifetime Achievement Award in Volunteerism and Inspirational Service Award: Kathleen Fee of Mercy Medical Center, Susan Helmus of Long Island State Veterans Home, Judy Pockriss of Old Bethpage Village Restoration, Janet Romeo of The Epilepsy Foundation of Long Island, and Patricia Shea of Momma’s House (2006 Inductee). For more information, contact the Long Island Volunteer Center at 516-564-5482.

Long Island Volunteer Center

Long Island Volunteer Hall of Fame

This entry was posted in Honorees, Long Island Volunteer Hall of Fame, Recognition, Volunteer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s